Small Things

Lately, I have been having a hard time with getting enough sleep. I always wake up exhausted, even when I go to bed at a decent hour. Today I do not have to work until noon, so I was hoping to sleep in a tad; however, when my husband left for work at his usual time of 8, I was unable to fall asleep again. So here I am, watching Harry Potter and drinking coffee in an attempt at getting energized for what could possibly be a long 4 hours at work. You wouldn’t think that a cashier job at Kohl’s would be taxing, but I am not used to being on my feet for that long.

On a more positive note, I have been surrounded by the joy and encouragement I have needed for a long time these past few weeks. I have spent time with friends, who have kept me laughing. I have spent time with my husband, who can drive me crazy, but still keeps me sane and looking forward to the future. I have spent time in God’s word, doing Bible studies with a married group and on my own.

While all these things are wonderful, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything, it’s the small things that have added to and overflown my blessings list. Finding two over-sized mugs for my husband and I to use, printing wedding photos to hang, lighting new scented candles, making plans for matching tattoos with my best friend, a new student schedule, compliments from customers at work, singing praise songs in the car. I could go on and on about the things I have done these past few weeks, but you would still not know the magnitude of joy I am feeling!

God loves to see His children happy. Every time I smile, I can feel Him smiling back. And best of all, this period of joy is not overshadowed by a looming sense that everything is about to go wrong.

One thought on “Small Things

  1. What a good question. It seems that everyone who has responded has a different set of priorities. Normal. To be expected. I have been a busy mum, tended a household, taught full-time. Now, I’m a widow. Retired from teaching. I budget carefully for a cleaner, and a yard-guy. I spend 4-5 hours daily in the studio. Sometimes longer. From end of May to mid-October I’m at the local farmer’s market for an 8-hour day, once a week. Servicing this commitment with orders and fresh work takes up the week. Nobody else takes care of business except me. I am content and pleased with the way my work flow, marketing, acceptance into juried shows has gone the past few years, and I’m happy to have help in the house and garden.

Leave a Reply

