He Overcame

Jesus asked, “Do you finally believe? But the time is coming—indeed it’s here now—when you will be scattered, each one going his own way, leaving me alone. Yet I am not alone because the Father is with me. I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” John 16:32-33

I always love it when a verse says something new to me.

I know that I have been on the topic of trials a lot lately, but bear with me. Jesus said, “Here on earth you have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” I remember reading this as a kid in Sunday School and thinking, “Cool, Jesus says to not worry about my troubles.” But, I now realize how much more to it there is.

Jesus knows that we will face trials and sorrows. MANY trials and sorrows. Even Jesus himself faced them, as a human on earth. He can actually relate to us – the Son of God knows exactly how I feel. That’s why when I read that he tells me to take heart, I can believe him. He’s not just saying it because it will make me feel better. It’s true – I have a reason to take heart. He was here on earth, he faced death, and he rose again. If that’s no comforting, I don’t know what is.

Not many things can calm my heart like reading my Bible and talking to God. I don’t even have to be spilling my troubles to him – I just like talking to him, knowing that he listens to every word. And it’s during such a time that he shows me a verse like this on in John, and reminds me that, indeed, I have a reason to pick myself up and keep going.

Leave a Reply

