Hopes and Dreams.

Lost dreams dance in the shadows of burning hopes.

Morbid, yes. But still true. I have a list on my laptop of what could be called my hopes and dreams. It’s filled with places I want to travel to (from Ireland, England, and New Zealand to Colorado, Maine, and Vancouver), things I want to see and do, people I want to meet, and achievements I want to… well, achieve. I have these dreams because I don’t let myself think that something is impossible.

How easy, though, for someone today to let society tell them that they can’t do something. You’ll never finish college because it’s too expensive. You’ll never get married because you’re not able to commit. You’ll never travel the world because you need to stay here and work. If those things were true, the world would be a dull place.

In middle school, I had a teacher tell me that I would not get into college because I had a “horrible work ethic.” In high school, after expressing my love for writing, I had a teacher tell me that I was not a good writer and should pick something else to study. Recently, I’ve had family members tell me that wanting to travel is not ideal for me because I want to get married at such a young age. Thinking back, I’m proud of myself for not listening to any of them! I can’t help but wonder where I would be if I had.

Nowhere.

It’s not about having crazy dreams, such as solving the issue of world hunger or inventing a time machine (not that it didn’t cross my mind when I discovered the genre of science fiction).  My dreams still exist because I let them exist.

Leave a Reply

