Camp.

Teenagers running around everywhere. Loud screaming. Singing during all hours of the night. Emotional moments. More emotional moments. Questioning the food in the cafeteria. Diving deeper into the Word than you ever have. Laughing. Friendships to last a lifetime. Waking up at five in the morning to watch the sunrise. Getting wet. Getting dirty. Getting competitive. Loving God.

Camp.

Tomorrow, for the seventh year in a row, I’ll be heading out on the four-hour drive to Roscommon, MI for a week. The above paragraph doesn’t even begin to describe the amazing chaos that is Metamorphosis week at Bambi Lake. Even though by the end of the week I feel like pulling my hair and passing out for the rest of my life, I love it. I love watching the teens go through the same changes I did when I was in high school, I love helping them get to those changes, I love seeing the teams compete in the most ridiculous games ever.

But most of all, I love feeling like I’m at home with the people who love me and love God. There’s only one person missing.

I’ll be praying for a selfless spirit, a servant’s heart, and a willingness to leave behind the comforts of my life here at home – which includes my boyfriend, blogging, facebook, and watching TV – all to better serve the teens this week. It all ties in to our verse:

Be not conformed to the patterns of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

- Romans 12:2

Here’s to a week of adventuring, discovering, and falling more in love with our God!

Leave a Reply

