Thank You, God.

This morning, I woke up a little early for a Tuesday; my only class starts at 2:00, so I usually sleep in pretty late. Frustrated, I decided to read my devotional. I have been reading through My Utmost for His Highest, and sometimes I get a little behind. When I read yesterdays’ devotion before heading to today’s, two thoughts went through my head:

  • God really, really, really loves to show me that I need to keep on track.
  • God really, really, really, really knows what I need to hear and when I need to hear it.

I was bumming yesterday (read my last post if you don’t believe me). I was an emotional wreck. But, after reading that devotional, I could just see God starting to smile at me as I realized how different my attitude needed to be.

… And God is never in hurry. If we are willing to wait, we will see God pointing out that we have only been interested in His blessings, instead of in God Himself. The sense is God’s blessings is fundamental. Unyielding spiritual fortitude is what we need.

Shoot. That really did make me think. And if I had read it yesterday, I would have saved myself the trouble of getting all worked up about something I simply can’t change right now.  I have been a Christian for several years now, and it was a bit of a slap in the face to realize that I have slipped back into the habit of not giving all to God, but giving when I need something back. God does not want us to say, “You’re awesome! I love you! Can I have this?” He wants us to give our lives on a daily basis; the blessings are just a plus.

How selfish, how human, to only see God’s blessings. During the times when God is making my life easier, I praise Him. All the other times, I whine and ask Him to fix it. I revoke my earlier statement. I do not feel like Job, even a smaller version, because Job actually praised God through his hard times. Job lost everything! I have lost nothing, yet I am complaining to God about my situation.

Keep me on the right track, God. I’m trying. From here on out I will be trying so much harder to see You among hard times. After all, the first step is admitting you have a problem, right?

[An edit: this has nothing to do with the above post, but today is TOMS One Day Without Shoes event. It’s worldwide and you can do it while doing your day-to-day activities! The event is simple: don’t wear shoes today. For more information about TOMS and this event, click here.]

Leave a Reply

