Loving the Love.

Sometimes, I really do believe the saying “change for the sake of change”, which is why I decided to switch dorms for this year. That lasted long; I am going back to my old dorm after finals. Moving across campus at Spring Arbor is not a big deal; our campus is so small, you can pretty much see all the buildings from the clock tower. However, there is a drastic difference between living in Muffitt (freshman year) and Lowell (this semester) hall. Muffitt may be an older building – the first residence hall built on campus! – but it contains tradition, love, and a sense of community unlike anywhere I have ever been. Our brother hall, Ormston, is an almost identical building right across from us.

I did not know how much I would miss Muffitt until I no longer lived there. Being an incredibly affectionate person, I just love loving on people. Hugs, prayer, talking, listening, laughing… at any given moment, these things can be going on in Muffitt’s hallways, and I feel at home there. I was visiting with my old roommate Katie tonight, and simply sitting in her room made me realize that Muffitt is the perfect atmosphere for me. A person can really grow there, surrounded by people who love you.

Which also made me think, are we not called to surround ourselves with such people? People who make us feel loved and glorify God through their actions, just as God wants us to? It’s so easy to get caught up in the world and not realize that you are straying from God. Rather than let that happen, I am going to strengthen my relationship with Him as much as I can while I am in the environment to do so.

It’s crazy how God can put you in a place that makes you feel so loved <3

Leave a Reply

